top of page
  • Writer's pictureAli Isaac

Of Iconic Stones and Irish Gods

Updated: Jul 27, 2020

The actual Killycluggin Stone in the Co Cavan Museum, Ballyjamesduff. It is in two pieces; someone has attempted to effect a repair with concrete.

The actual Killycluggin Stone in the Co Cavan Museum, Ballyjamesduff. It is in two pieces; someone has attempted to effect a repair with concrete.

 

My latest article has just been published on Irish Central. It features the iconic Killycluggin Stone, reputed to be the idol of the ancient sun deity Crom Cruach. This stone has a dark and turbulent past, for Irish mythology claims our ancient ancestors worshipped Crom by sacrificing their first-born children to him, and in order to do this, the children’s’ heads were smashed upon the stone and their blood sprinkled all about it.


Whether this is true or not (and most probably not), Magh Slecht, ‘the Plain of Prostrations’, is located just up the road in my own county, Co Cavan, and is a very atmospheric site containing an extraordinary concentration of ancient megalithic monuments, and a wealth of history and associated myth and folklore.


If you want to know more, please follow this link. I will be writing further about Magh Slecht on this blog, as being there had such a profound effect on me.


You may also be interested to know that I was invited to write for Irish pagan magazine, Brigid’s Fire, which will soon be expanding into the US. I have submitted my first article, and am waiting to hear if they are going to publish. In this article, I feature another place in Co Cavan, even closer to home, which bears an astonishing past and which produced another iconic stone of a different nature, known as the Corleck Head. I’ll be writing more about this later too, but in the meantime, you can check out their publication here.


Some of you may have noticed I did not post any stories of Irish mythology last week. I had a difficult week, for various reasons, and I apologise if you missed your regular Monday dose of Mythology… I hope to have normal services resumed this week!


The next few weeks are going to be busy for everyone as we gear up to the Big Day. All I can say is keep it real, try not to stress, and take/ make time to enjoy it all.


Merry Christmas!

 

Comments


bottom of page